Brain Damage

November 20, 2008 at 5:40 pm | Posted in Musing + Mulling, Verses + Vignettes | 8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

My fingers have been doing the polka dance all over the keyboard for the past ten minutes, in the vain hope that it would rouse my brain from its deep slumbers and write something. Unfortunately for them, my brain just about happens to be the most stubborn thing ever created.

I can hear it chiding now, but this time I am going to have my way.
*racks brains for something to write about*
Don’t be stupid, brain, I can’t possibly write about jumping monkeys on the moon. They don’t even exist, you silly bundle of nerves and neurons.

Oh no! Blasphemy! I repent!

Emily Dickinson, bless her, once said that the brain is ‘wider than the sky.’ (Never mind the fact that she would have redefined the whole geometry from a sky to a  subatomic particle had she happened to live in our times). Anyway, the point is, the human brain never fails to amaze me. On two levels: its sheer brilliance, and its utter stupidity. Extremes on the spectrum, but both equally amazing, you see.

My awe leads me to this unforgivable crime, oh, horror of all horrors, a poem composed in its honour.

It’s a bundle of nerves weighing barely three pounds
Yet actually wider than a sky on metaphorical grounds
Oh, it’s a wondrous little mechanism, all right
(Though, like a squeezed walnut, not exactly a pretty sight)

Old Freud, he couldn’t figure it out
Not that he was the only one about
Scourging the depths of the cup of the brain
Ended up only with a teaspoon in vain

But the riddle teases us right back
It’s nowhere as as easy as a MySpace hack
Like an old geezer put on public display
But who cares, MySpace sucks anyway

It’s best if you just give it a rest
Though we will never entirely tire of this quest
It seems the answer may elude us for a while
But we’ll get there by a long mile

I am now absolutely convinced of the feats of the human brain; for this, of course, is something only a talentless waste genius like me could produce. Shelley must be rolling in his grave. You made me do it, brain.

Oh Good Lord, my brain’s rebelling on me. I’m sorry for all the late night studying, please don’t leave me, okay? You’re all I’ve got.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Tee hee. Brains are fickle creatures. I’ve been trying to get mine not to leave me for a while now…I recommend coffee :).

  2. Indeed, fickle they are ;-) did you know that once you reach thirty five years of age, your brain loses about one thousand cells daily, which are never replaced. Coffee just makes me more sleepy. o_O

  3. Emily Dickinson… and all the people you pull out from your hat… you keep a good company inside your head… hm, our brain is wider than the sky… I like this. Once I knew a man, who’s brain suddenly became wider than the windshield. He missed to remember that a seat-belt is always handy. I know, I buckle myself in, when I start to think. It’s always a bumpy ride.

    You need a button. So do I. To turn this little machine off in my head. I can’t even watch a film without having brainstorms. And to watch a film with me is impossible. You can hear my thoughts if you sit next to me. I make sure you do. I talk. Lately.
    Coffee makes things worse. I talk more. But I shut up while I drink, though. At least. Once I tried not to. All I can say is that it’s not recommended for beginners. :o)

    …how many cells do we have in our brain? It’s a relevant question. I loose probably one or two thousand each time we have a session (playing and drinking walks hand-in-hand), so there is a very high possibility, that at 35 I won’t have a brain at all. Not a single cell. Should I play less frequently? :o)

  4. One thousand cells a day? How does anybody have a brain left by 36? That’s it, I’m not getting any older starting now :).

  5. Jozef – haha! They sure make a good company, but they exist in my head and don’t pay rent.

    Can we ‘turn off that little machine in our heads’? Probably not. It seems it whirs more loudly in some than others, and it seems there’s nothing we can do about it…except watch an hour or two of a contemporary soap opera. Deadly enough to leave you brain dead for a while, I assure you. ;)

    It’s assumed that we have over a hundred billion cells in our brain. And rofl, the sessions must be deadly eh? But did you know that children taught the piano at the age of six actually undergo and increase in IQ, or that music helps people suffering from stroke recover faster, or that a challenging piece of music invokes the same reactions from the brain as to a problem in maths or science, or that those who sing on a regular basis suffer from less stress than those who don’t or *shuts up for fear of destroying brain cells with pointless bombarding of facts*


    ramblerock:
    aye, alarming rate it is, but did you know that the human brain can store upto 100 times more information than the fastest computer on earth? Uh oh, here I go again… anyway, I believe age hasn’t got anything to with a number associated with a physical body. It has to do with the mind. And the mind cannot be measured by numbers. =]

  6. A good companionship is priceless. :o)

    But you comforted me. I have at least the half of my brain to go. Soap operas slows down the process and bombarding with facts fastens, indeed… I even had to put up my bib. :o)

    So you say, that music is responsible for me being so chaotic (or associative, if you will) and that I’ll live a longer life playing music, so that more people can enjoy my stupidity, furthermore that I should sing to avoid my depressed phases even if I can’t? It sounds like eternal punishment for everyone around @-)

    Oops, a thought on music and math, and all the things. I see music. Not the notes, it’s more like a vision. And I’m not on acid :o)
    And thinking about it, I see problems too, like math equations or how to put together the things I took apart. It’s interesting. But I don’t see how could I write shorter comments… maybe I should try to stop, when

  7. Haha…singing when you can’t isn’t the eternal punishment, but singing when you shouldn’t (read: torturous experience =P) is far worse. Try me. =P

    Also, WHEY. I know exactly what you mean. Seeing music! It’s a rare phenomenon, actually! It’s a result of the right kind of musical skill and visual talent. Like in Mozart’s case, he could picture whole symphonies. Also, Einstein could ‘see’ the equations in his mind. You’re one lucky person. =P

  8. Hahahahaha, it was a good one. Torturous experience :o)

    I didn’t know that this ‘seeing’ thing is rare… I thought that’s the way it is, and that’s all… but I don’t want to end up like Mozart, being a bon-bon… or Einstein, hanging from the wall in every physic-classroom… :o)

    But yeah, I’m the luckiest boy alive. I’ll upload the song later I’ve wrote about this… :o)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

