Mind Your Throats, Please

November 6, 2008 at 7:15 pm | Posted in Randomosities + Rubbish | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

Charles Darwin never really found out the relation between evolution and chewing gum, I believe.

It was dissection in biology practicals the other day. Now, if there is any thing I hate more than getting up early in the morning, it is dissection. I cannot bring myself to dissect a page, let alone an organism. Anyway, the professor was demonstrating and I was only half-listening, trying somehow to force my brain into imagining that the shiny scalpel I held in my hand was a paintbrush or something.

So, the professor grabs the cockroach firmly in one hand, makes a sharp cut and – I swallow my gum. Accidentally. Uh oh. I freak out, rush to the nearest water bottle, grab it and gulp it all down. Class and professor stand stupefied, staring at me gulping down water in such a frenzy, slopping it all down my front.

Professor (to the class): Ah, now, look here. A common case. This particular practical may cause one to feel nauseous.
(turning to and smirking at me): Especially, if one happens to be of a …ah…delicate disposition. A psychological problem.

I was too busy freaking out at my having swallowed gum to take notice of her petty dim-witted insults. She thought I was disturbed at the disection, well in a way I was, but not to the extent of feeling nauseous. It was that piece of gum that was probably clogging up my insides right now that I was getting freaked out at.

Swallowing gum was much more serious than a poor wee cockroach spread out before you waiting to be cut up in the…*shudders* never mind.

I had never swallowed gum before in my life. That’s right, not once. I’d always exercised as much caution during the simple activity of chewing gum as you would while handling radioactive materials. At that moment I was this six year old again, who had just chewed gum for the first time in her life. I thought I was going to die. Seriously. Luckily, that didn’t happen. The Professor continued the dissection and the snide remarks about ‘mental health’, but I didn’t care; I was grateful for being alive.

Later that afternoon I googled up ‘I swallowed gum’ and found out that the chances of an instantaneous death are rather low. Of course S and G and A all told me they’d swallowed gums loads of times before but I’d refused to be comforted.

‘Hello, I’m seventeen and I’ve just swallowed chewing gum for the first time in my life and I think I’m going to die.’

Oh well, I’m never chewing gum again.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That opening sentence had me in hysterics. If only Darwin was chewin’ on some Wrigley’s when he wrote The Origin of the Species!

    Is it just me or are all science teachers seriously pretentious?

  2. Haha! Could be quite a possibility, ye never know :]

    I know what you mean. God, the way these science teachers go about the place acting as though they’re a higher evolved form or something. This particular teacher only hates me for answering every question in class. She says it’s irritating I have to know everything

    I have no idea what’s up with her =/

  3. No (good) sex for long time. If I’d to guess :o)

    Yes, malicious as usual… but that opening sentence is deadly, indeed. I rived the buttons off of my pajama, laughing.

  4. LMAO. There’s definitely no questioning your infinite wisdom skills, Jozef. :D

  5. Yep, I am wise, but I don’t have buttons on mi pajama no more. Now I look like a five-years-old. Again. :o)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

