A Letter to Time

July 26, 2008 at 7:13 pm | Posted in Life as I See It, Musing + Mulling | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Dear Time,

You are a funny thing.

Except that you have a twisted, sick sense of humour. Yes, you do. It really isn’t funny how you can be more indecisive over your speed than George Bush over his multiple-question choices when confronted with an elementary quiz (even with all the options being exactly the same).

Why, for instance, do you have to travel at painfully slow speeds during every Botany lecture? Or, for that matter, when ODT takes up the mic and resolves to display his shameful singing skills? Or during those ridiculous traffic-jams? And you shamelessly zoom by whenever I happen to be sleeping, or reading, or in a concert or in the library or in an interesting lecture or sipping coffee while thinking about nothing in particular or…well you know the list.

You know how many times I’ve cursed you and begged you but you blow all the whining and cursing with one ‘Pooof!’ of your breath, throw back your head and laugh, saying ‘Relativity!’ Well, relativity all right. I expect Einstein spared you the shame of asking you how long you took to choose your pizza topping.

Anyway, I’m a bit alarmed and disturbed by you. Well, you know, us humans are always a bit alarmed and disturbed when it comes to you. You knocked at my door on the fourteenth of this month and pah! now I’m seventeen. Thanks to you, I’m hit by dumb questions from dumb people such as ‘Are you grown up yet?’ from all sides. I mean, come to think of it, there would be no such questions if it weren’t for you.

‘Are. You. Grown. Up. Yet?’
they ask from all sides, in a sneering, idiotic fashion that brings back – I don’t know why – memories of a particularly sinister chorus of an advertising jingle I’d heard as a kid. And then, I can do nothing but tell them to shut up. Growing up was never (and isn’t ever going to be) on my to-do-list, I tell them airily.

To-do-lists. That brings back memories too. Remember when I was a silly little girl of eleven, I’d make stupid, gigantic to-do-lists that included every wee thing, including even things such as brushing my teeth at night? It sounds so strange now. I never follow a To-Do-List (I don’t remember checking that little box in the ‘done’ column in ages) now…though that maybe, er, due to my failure to follow them.

But really, that’s the problem with the world today. For most people, life has become an endless chain of To-Do’s. Do this, do that. And you go on running, adding more and more items to your To-Do-List at every stop, but never once pausing to stay and care to look.

So…back to you. I’ve already whined about you being oh-so-unfair. But what are you, really, Time?
Do you even exist? Are you just an illusion? When did you begin? How will you end? Don’t you ever get tired of…going on, all the time? Don’t you ever rest?

Yes, I pestered you with these questions back as a six year old and I pester you with them now. They’re maddening questions, you know. You don’t how much humans fuss over them, and over you. We owe life to you, and yet we don’t understand you at all. You’re never absolute. Most of the humans are terrified of you. You’re the biggest bully we’ve ever known.

It’s easy to say you’re cruel. That you are merciless and intimidating. But don’t feel bad. It’s because of you that we have such a thing as memories – belongings that we gather and carefully preserve above everything else. It’s because of you that we can have music. That we have life itself is due to you. OK, that’s enough praise to last for a lifetime.

And what exactly is a lifetime? And what exactly is a moment?
Oh, I can hear you sighing now and wishing I’d stop with all these questions already. Well, all right, I’ll stop. But before I do so, let me ask you something. See, seventeen years isn’t really a long time when you’re looking back at them – no period of time is. Thing is, you’ve always been there, always hovering in the background, leveling every thing. But at some point of my life, I hope you’ll finally relent. I know that one day, even if for one fleeting moment, you’ll be still. And that moment will have been a lifetime.

Until then,
keep ticking.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] is a powerful tool.  Not much more than a year ago the stock market and the real estate market were doing fine.  Obviously the stock market and the […]

  2. (14th of July? Wow, that makes you exactly as old as my brother.)

    I think people nowadays spend far too little time writing letters. The creative hand-written gems of the past were replaced by emotional nullities of the “kthxbye” sort. The multitude of distractions present in this world make it difficult to read (much less write) a real letter. Or maybe people have just become too impatient.

    But, you either quit the game, or you play by the rules.

    A quote from Sarah Dessen’s “The Truth About Forever”:

    Forever was so many different things. It was always changing, it was what everything was really all about. It was twenty minutes, or a hundred years, or just this instant, or any instant I wished would last and last. But there was only one truth about forever that really mattered, and that was this: it was happening.

    I hope you have a great year, and… don’t grow up ;)

  3. Indeed, a pity isn’t it?

    Every letter is a powerful piece of a person, I think…it carries an element of the ones writing it, and because it is addressed to somebody specifically, I guess it has a life of its own. And you have the more modern means of communication, which howsoever convenient, simply do not have the charm that letters possess. Not just as words caught and frozen in time, but as physical objects too – counting down on details such as the use of a specific ink or the texture of the paper – letters are irreplaceable.

    ok, maybe I need to stop ranting on about letters. Anyhoo, that’s a wonderful quote! Such a profound truth.

    (14 of July is also Bastille Day, and Emmeline Pankhurst’s birthday too)

    And thanks =D

  4. Hello, wow you’ve got some balls, I wouldn’t pick a fight with time, it’s too finicky picky for me-get some hair cloth on before it bites your ass

  5. I like the idea of writing time a letter, so I am stealing the concept..but not the topic..does that make sense?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

