‘You Think Too Much’

January 10, 2008 at 7:25 pm | Posted in Life as I See It, Me + Myself + I | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

That’s what my biology professor told me when I sought to ask her about the possibilities of ‘thought-waves’ or ‘thought-energy’ in relation to the clinical death of the brain.

I couldn’t help asking what she meant by her stupid remark. She was of the opinion that I was concerning myself with matters that were ‘far too advanced than what I ought to be learning at this age.’ Excuse me? It’s never too early or too late to learn or explore something new. I could have told her this, but what’s the point, I thought, in arguing with a person who sees it fit to equate knowledge with age?

Apart from the fact that she displayed her close-mindedness (despite of being a teacher) to discuss a new idea, I think that’s a really vicious thing to say to any student. What is wrong with teachers today? They’re dissuading us from veering off course from what’s written in the textbooks. Does anyone honestly believe that all the knowedge on a particular subject can be contained within the covers of a textbook?

Which brings me to the question, why do so many people – sadly, teachers included – disapprove questioning the conventional, the ordianry, the tested or speculating on the unproven and the unknown? I am so utterly disappointed that everywhere it seems as if people have forgotten to be inquisitive. Everyone takes things for granted. Why? Opinions are almost formed, packaged, and fed into the society – and many people seem to think that’s good enough for them. And why do so many students face opposition or general disapproval when taking out the unconventional route? Or for that matter, anyone who ever goes with a unconventional method – be it in business, science or even relationships?

Punishment isn’t the worst aspect of a teacher’s behaviour, is it? I’d say the worst thing that a teacher can do is to suppress a child’s curiosity. Once you lose sight of that quality, you’ve lost sight on the essence of all true art, of all true science, of life itself. A teacher needs to see things from a child’s perspective. If you go around propagating the usual ways of doing things what you’re doing is almost killing originality – and merely causing innumerable carbon copies of the same thing disguised in innumerable forms.

We’ve all heard stories of independent, unconventional, original thinkers encoutering criticism and ridicule all too often before. Who hasn’t heard of the exploits of Einstein or Edison in school? But I think it’s about time we learned practise tolerance on the difference of opinions or viewpoints.

Whoever said that you have to confine yourself to what society thinks is ‘thinkable or ‘unthinkable’ or even to what it considers is thinking ‘too much or ‘too little’? Which brings back to me a quote I read somewhere:

If we do what we’ve always done. we’ll get what we’ve always got.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It is often difficult for teachers to admit that a concept or answer to a question is beyond their knowledge. The defensive instinct kicks in, and you get a more or less polite “get lost” message. This may also happen if they mistakenly think that you asked just to show off your knowledge, or to demean or make fun of them. Another reason could be that your question was perceived as some kind of attack to their religion / philosophy of life.
    Another thing about teachers: most of them are terribly insecure. If a student laughs or smiles in class most teachers will assume they are the cause of the ridicule. I admit that I sometimes feel the same way when people are laughing, but teachers should be the first ones to find the way out of that trap.
    Those select few who are open-minded enough not to reject ideas for stupid causes, and those not afraid of acknowledging that they don’t have all the answers in the world, to those I say THANK YOU.

  2. Couldn’t have put it better myself :-D Each and everyone of those reasons apply perfectly…

    Good teachers are exceedingly rare. I read about how Einstein was once approached by a girl of seven or eight who sought to have help with her homework; and when her mother thanked Einstein, the good old professor replied, ‘I learnt more from talking to the child than I can ever manage to teach her.’

  3. Hrm. I as well suspect is has something to do with “offensive defense” rather than just admitting she hadn’t thought of it. It’s still dismaying though, that someone who is responsible for facilitating knowledge and provoking thought could be so far the opposite.

    I suppose it falls on our individual shoulders to increase our own knowledge and gather other sources wherever they may be. But it’s so frustrating! Haha.

  4. Yes, gleaning knowledge can be an individual thing; but when people are unopen to exchange of knowledge, then the value of knowledge is diminished almost.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

