Resolutions!

January 1, 2008 at 5:30 pm | Posted in Life as I See It | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

With every new year come the resolutions. Even though fifty per cent of people give up within the first three months of the year, I can’t think of a better way to start a new year. And they’re fun!

When it comes to resolutions, I’ve always failed abysmally at them. I usually set very high standards for myself, even when it comes to resolutions. The thing is, I’m able to excel at anything I set against myself, save the resolutions. I guess my way of living and habits are so hardwired into my psyche I couldn’t change them even if I’d wanted to.

But an online friend gave me this little piece on resolutions and I thought it was really brilliant. It made me realise that you don’t always have to do great or big things in life, you can do small things with great dedication. I’m gunna put it up here and try to follow it all year long for the rest of my life hopefully!

1. Be observant.
2. Never let any idea go uncaptured.
3. Try to learn something from the people you meet.
4. Take a book or magazine wherever you go.
5. Allocate a minimum of 30 minutes to read a book.
6. Meditate.
7. Take time to reflect on your day. What have you done right? What have
you done wrong? What can you do to improve yourself?
8. Drink water a lot.
9. Exercise.
10. Read a collection of quotes.
11. Choose a quote of the day to ponder and apply.
12. Take notes of every expense you make.
13. Do something for the first time.
14. Effectively read online articles.
15. Use timer to help you actually do what you need to do.
16. Learn to use a tool, either to improve your skill
with a familiar tool or to learn a new tool.
17. Take time to review your life purpose and goals.
18. Rise early.
19. Listen to educational or motivational audio programme when you are
doing activities which do not need full concentration.
20. Be grateful for your day.
21. Read a random article to expose you to new things.
22. Have fun. Be passionate about life.

– Donald Latumahina

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i was nodding my head at numbers 4 and 5. i’m a bookworm and i can’t tell you how useful it is to have a book with you wherever you go! if your friend’s late, you can read your book. if your teacher’s late, read your book. if your mom’s late picking you up, read your book. if you don’t have company, read your book. okay, i think you get the idea. :P

    the others are good resolutions too, though i think that’s a hell lot to handle! but good luck all the same. :)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

