Dream Over

December 30, 2007 at 3:16 pm | Posted in Randomosities + Rubbish | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

At the end of the day, when I lay back down in bed, I surrender myself to my imagination. I never know where my dreams might take me today. I’ve been to places and done things that I might never do in real life.

Dreaming is a curious phenomenon with me. I dream in colour, and in the greatest detail. I always remember my dreams. In some of my dreams, I am aware that I am dreaming whatever I’m dreaming. Though, this is rare, and in most of the cases, the dream is so real and so vivid, that I can literally live the experience.

Today, I had a series of about four dreams (*coughlie-incough*). When I woke up, I knew almost immediately that I’d had a rapid succession of dreams, and all the images and impressions associated with them came flooding back to me. But then it struck me that it never crossed my mind, during the entire period that I was asleep, how I switched between the dreams. I wasn’t aware of moving onto another dream or remembering a previous one.

Anyway, what bothers me is the sensation I get the moment I am out of sleep – the moment I’m awake. Somehow, it leaves me with a sense of emptiness. As if a part of me was taken away. When I have the darkest of dreams – they linger with me in my mind for the rest of the day. I do not give much thought to neutral dreams, while happy ones…hang on; I haven’t had any happy dreams lately. None that I remember. Goodness, and I didn’t even know.

All I know is, something tiny, something sad sets in me once I get out of the dream. What can this mean? Am I becoming addicted to dreaming? Am I scared of facing reality?

I think I’m tangled up too much in my imagination. Wherever I go, whatever I do, it is always at work. Always thinking something. Yearning to get away from the mundane realities of routine life. Making up its own reality… I know this could be quite dangerous. I’m already known to be the most absent-minded person around. Always absorbed in my own thoughts, in some ‘other world’.

When I go to sleep, I try to empty my mind. In surrendering to my dreams, I am taking off the burdens of my life. Reality doesn’t matter in dreams. I have dabbled in dream interpretation and sometimes, they have provided me clues – even helped me out on an occasion or two.

But where can this lead? Either I’m going to end up as a lonely old person with her head in fancies and not knowing her own address or who knows, I could be some writer or scientist!

I hope it’s the second one.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

