Slow Down

December 14, 2007 at 8:26 am | Posted in Life as I See It | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

People like me find routine life boring. ‘Routine life’ – when I say that phrase, I don’t refer to life itself. I refer to the individual days.

I don’t like passing each day just like yesterday. Often teens like myself who, though we may be born in the lap of luxury, have this emptiness inside. I call it emptiness – but in the broadest sense. Perhaps it is want of something, disappointment or frustration…or in my case, simply not having enough twists and turns. I know I’m a thrill seeker, and I’m big on risks and adventures.

So I, and I know so many others, just like me, often think about living a different life – doing something else, something exciting, chasing our goals and having fun, all at the same time. But we also have school, family life and friends, and resposibilities with which we can’t get away even if we wanted to. The only outlet that we have then becomes…indulging in dreams. We have ideas, ambitions and desires…and we course our way through life while living an unlived life in our imagination.

What do we want? What are we searching for?

Thrill, adventure, excitement. These words sound nice…but I don’t get them as much as I’d like to. But then I say to myself, at sixteen, what and how much adventure do you expect? Becoming the Prime Minister or something? I want to have a challenging, demanding life and I imagine racing through it, having it all.

But that’s not the way it ought to be. It’s time to slow down. Pause. And reflect.

On where you are and in which direction you’re heading. The human mind is a wonderful thing, it’s alive and receptive, like ripples in water. But many of us don’t have the time to dwell on things in our everyday life, and we just take life for granted. So, you may have an exciting future and all, but there’s a lot to be enjoyed in the present too.

The Led Zeppelin song, That’s the Way so ably conveys the message.

And yesterday I saw you kissing tiny flowers,
But all that lives is born to die.
And so I say to you that nothing really matters,
And all you do is stand and cry.

Don’t take those flowers for granted…take the time to kiss them today. They might not be there tomorrow.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

